3/ The organic viticulture



     Since my start in 1988, I decided with my wife to work in organic viticulture. This choice was obvious to us because organic culture is in our eyes the most beneficial agriculture for everybody.
Our domain was one of the precursors in this sector because in 1988, 15 hectares (of which 3 ha for our domain) on the whole of the vineyard of Jura was certified in biology (0.75%) while today organic wine represent 15%.

Organic viticulture respect not only environment, but also product quality and health of the consumers.



        The vine in Organic agriculture is cultivated without chemical fertilizer, without weedkiller, without pesticides and without chemical fungicides. The soil are fertilized exclusively with composted fertilizers and organic amendments such as the horn (rich in nitrogen), composts or some split up wood.

The vine is protected as at the beginning of the century only in case of necessity against the mildew with Bordeaux mixture and against the oïdium with sulphur and from extracts of plants. Since a few years, I try hard to minimize my consumption of Bordeaux mixture and replace it with more natural remedies as the herb tea of stinging nettle, horsetail, wicker or still dandelion.

For me, the organic vine growing doesn't limit itself ton an absence of chemical treatments because to obtain strong vineyard and healthy grape at harvests and have a chance to realize a good wine, the vineyard soil must be worked (mechanically) all year long respectfully.

The organic wine grower must be more attentive to the evolution of the vine plants and to the work of his soil during the year at the risk of seeing decaying his domain on the long term (decrease of production volume, diseases apparition...) because the use of chemicals, it is true, brings a comfort in the work and the follow-up of the vineyard but it's at the detriment of the environment.


  First of all, the vine rests all winter long. Then, come mechanical grindings and the soil work to limit the proliferation of herbs. The grassing has a positive effect because it prevents the soil erosion of lands situated in hillsides during the frequent thunderstorms in our regions. This absence of grassing  in a conventional vineyard culture (use of weedkiller) tends to impoverish the soil of its nourishing wealth.

At the end of the winter, the vineyard is cut to prepare vines plant for the harvest to come. According to the vigour of each vine plant, one even two wooden rod are preserved to assure the fruiting of buds. These wooden rods are then attached in the shape of bow to facilitate the growths to come: it is the bonding.

Then, the nature and the sun work, leafs and first buds appear and then followed by the first clusters. Grapes get fat and mature little by little. This phase requires some works in the vineyard as the lifting and cut of the vine branch. They consist in the preservation of wood as well as in the cut of those become too long to assure the passage in vineyard rows.

 The work made all year long in vineyards , on soil, on vine plant as well as fruits guarantees a good quality of the grape during the grape harvests. A healthy grape is a necessary base for a wine of quality.


AN ORGANIC WINE MAKING - a request finally fulfilled...

    Finally comes the long-awaited moment of the grape harvests, results of the efforts of a whole year. In our domain, the grape harvests remained manual, although more expensive than the machine, to collect a healthy grape harvest and respect the whole cluster. The machine does not actually know how to sort out leaves and harvest or still sort out rotted grapes in case of rainy year.

All the wine grower job also consists in choosing the convenient moment of the grape harvests. Contrary to what takes place in certain big exploitations, in which everything must be planned in advance, I can choose the exact moment when I begin my grape harvests. I so have all the freedom to harvest when grapes present an optimal balance between acidity and sugar.

At these works succeed one of the most important stages, the wine making, because it is what condition the wine quality.

    The wine making is all the easier as grapes are healthy. If this condition is filled, we don't need to add other yeasts, which have developed naturally on the skin of grapes. For me, it represents an enormous asset because yeasts which have been introduced artificially are standardized, what leads to a taste standardization. On the contrary, natural yeasts allow the soil to express completely all its specificities. If I take for example my plot of land of Chardonnay, I know that she can give very different wines from one year to the next.

In my opinion, only organic culture confers to the wine this highly ''alive'' character.

    Since February 2012, a specification concerning organic wines exist and allow to certify our wines. It can seem surprising but until then only grapes were certified organic and the mention " wines stemming from organic farming grapes" was mentioned on bottles.
This incongruity is now corrected and our demand fulfilled. Indeed, it could harm the image and the quality of organic wines because the wine making was not certified!!!


        The organic farming is obviously submitted to rules and to strict and unexpected controls to avoid any drift. Our label " AB " is delivered by ECOCERT, independent body and certified by the State.

This body has the power to lead:
- surprise visits in the vineyard and installations,
- unannounced controls by takings in the plots of land,
- chemical analyses,
- controls on all the products entering on the exploitation...

It is after the check of the respect for all these rules that the organic label is delivered for one year. This one must be thus renewed every year.

The works of the vineyard are submitted to strict responsibilities and the philosophy can be summarized the following way:
 "Favored at the most the mechanical work of the vineyard to the chemical treatments."
    The new specifications concerning the wine making of organic wines frame in particular the use of the sulphur dioxide (SO2), stabilizer who prevents the wine oxidation. The sulphur dioxide must be always used in moderation. It is eliminated, indeed, with difficulty by the human body and very often at the origin of unpleasant headaches during the wine consumption. For my part, I use homeopathic doses of SO2, 5 times as low as authorized.

3/ La viticulture biologique

UN RAISIN SAIN POUR UN VIN DE QUALITÉ


 UNE PHILOSOPHIE

     Depuis la reprise de l’exploitation en 1988, j’ai décidé avec mon épouse de travailler en agrobiologie. Ce choix a été pour nous évident car la biologie est à nos yeux l’agriculture la plus bénéfique pour tous.
Le domaine a été ainsi un des précurseurs dans ce secteur car en 1988, 15 hectares (dont 3 ha pour le domaine) sur l'ensemble du vignoble jurassien était certifié en biologie soit 0.75% du vignoble alors qu'aujourd'hui, le vin bio en représente 15%.

L'agrobiologie respecte non seulement l’environnement, mais aussi la qualité du produit et ainsi la santé du consommateur.


 


 LE RESPECT DE L'ENVIRONNEMENT

        La vigne en Biologie est cultivée, sans engrais chimiques, sans désherbants, sans pesticides, ni fongicides de synthèse sur des terres fertilisées exclusivement aux fumiers compostés et aux amendements organiques tel que la corne (riche en azote), du composte ou du bois fragmenté (BRF).
Comme au début du siècle, la vigne est protégée  en cas de nécessité contre le mildiou avec des sels de cuivre (bouillie bordelaise) et contre l'oïdium avec du souffre et des extraits de plantes. Depuis quelques années, je m’efforce de minimiser ma consommation de bouillie bordelaise au profit de remèdes plus naturels comme la tisane d’ortie, de prêle, d'osier ou encore de pissenlit.

Pour moi, la viticulture biologique ne se limite pas uniquement à une absence de traitements chimiques car pour obtenir des vignes vigoureuses et un raisin sain au moment des vendanges et avoir ainsi toutes les chances de réaliser un bon vin, la vigne doit être travaillée toute l’année avec respect.

Le vigneron bio doit être d'autant plus attentif à l'évolution de ses ceps au cours de l'année et au travail de ses sols au risque de voir péricliter son domaine sur le long terme (diminution des rendement, apparition de maladies...) car l'utilisation de produits chimiques apporte, il est vrai, un confort dans le travail et le suivi de la vigne mais cela au détriment de l'environnement.






LE RESPECT DU PRODUIT - un travail quotidien


    Tout d’abord, la vigne se repose tout l’hiver. Ensuite, viennent des broyages mécaniques et le travail des sols afin de limiter la prolifération des herbes. L’enherbement a un effet positif car il empêche le ravinement des terres situées en coteaux lors des orages fréquents dans nos régions. Cet enherbement inexistant dans une culture conventionnelle de la vigne (désherbant) a tendance à appauvrir la terre de ses richesses nutritives.


A la fin de l’hiver, la vigne est taillée afin de préparer les ceps pour la récolte à venir. Selon la vigueur des pieds, une voire deux baguettes sont conservées pour assurer la fructification des bourgeons. Ces baguettes sont ensuite attachées en forme d’arc pour faciliter les croissances à venir : c’est le liage.


Ensuite, la nature et le soleil œuvrent, feuilles et premiers bourgeons apparaissent suivies des premières grappes. Les raisins grossissent et mûrissent petit à petit. Cette phase nécessite quelques travaux à la vigne comme le relevage et le rognage. Ils consistent au maintien des bois ainsi qu’à la coupe de ceux devenus trop grands afin d'assurer le passage dans les rangs.

Le travail effectué dans les vignes toute l'année, sur les sols, les pieds ainsi que les fruits est garant d'une bonne qualité du raisin  lors des vendanges. Un raisin sain est une base nécessaire à un vin de qualité.

PAS DE BON VIN SANS BON RAISIN








UNE VINIFICATION BIO - une demande enfin exaucée...

    Finalement arrive le moment tant attendu des vendanges, résultats des efforts de toute une année. Dans notre domaine, les vendanges sont restées manuelles, bien que plus onéreuse que la machine, afin de récolter une vendange saine et respecter l’intégralité du raisin (grappe entière). La machine ne sait effectivement pas faire le tri entre les feuilles et la récolte ou encore trier les raisins pourris en cas d’année pluvieuse.

Tout le métier du vigneron consiste également à choisir le moment opportun des vendanges. Contrairement à ce qui se passe dans certaines grandes exploitations, où tout doit être planifié à l’avance, je peux choisir le moment exact auquel je débute mes vendanges. J’ai ainsi toute la liberté de récolter lorsque les raisins présentent un équilibre optimal entre acidité et sucre.


A ces travaux succèdent une des étapes les plus importantes, la vinification, car c’est elle qui va conditionner la qualité du vin.

    La vinification est d’autant plus facile que les raisins sont sains. Si cette condition est remplie, on pourra se contenter de ne pas ajouter d’autres levures que celles qui se sont développées naturellement sur la peau des raisins. Pour moi, cela représente un énorme atout car les levures que l’on introduit artificiellement sont standardisées, ce qui conduit à une redoutable uniformisation du goût.
A l’inverse, les levures naturelles permettent au terroir d’exprimer pleinement toutes ses spécificités. Si je prends par exemple ma parcelle de chardonnay, je sais qu’elle pourra donner des vins très différents d’une année sur l’autre. 


A mon avis, seul le bio confère au vin ce caractère hautement « vivant ».


    Depuis février 2012, un cahier des charges concernant les vins biologiques existent et permet de certifier nos vins. Cela peut paraître surprenant mais jusqu'à lors uniquement les raisins étaient certifiés biologiques et la mention "vins issus de raisins de l'agriculture biologique" était mentionnée sur les bouteilles.

Cette incongruité est maintenant corrigée et notre demande exaucée. En effet, cela pouvait porter préjudice à l'image et à la qualité des vins bios puisque la vinification n'était pas certifiée !!!







UNE CERTIFICATION

        L’agriculture Biologique est évidemment soumise à des règles et à des contrôles stricts et inopinés pour éviter toute dérive. Notre label « AB » est délivré par ECOCERT, organisme indépendant et certifié par l’Etat.

Cet organisme a le pouvoir de mener des visites impromptues du domaine et des installations, des contrôles inopinés par prélèvements dans les parcelles, des analyses chimiques, de contrôler l'ensemble des produits entrant sur l'exploitation...
C'est après la vérification du respect de l'ensemble de ces règles que le label biologique est délivré pour un an. Celui-ci doit donc être renouvelé chaque année.

Les travaux de la vigne sont soumis à un cahier des charges stricte dont la philosophie peut être résumée de la façon la suivante :
           
 " Privilégié au maximum le travail mécanique de la vigne aux traitements chimiques."
   
    Le nouveau cahier des charges concernant la vinification des vins bios encadre notamment l'utilisation du dioxyde de souffre (SO2), stabilisateur qui empêche l'oxydation du vin. Le dioxyde de souffre doit toujours être utilisé avec modération. Il est, en effet, difficilement éliminé par le corps humain et très souvent à l’origine de désagréables maux de tête lors de la consommation de vin. Pour ma part, j’utilise des doses homéopathiques de SO2, 5 fois plus faibles que les doses actuellement autorisées.