2/ Jura's vineyard



- Highlights

    Jura's vineyard is one of the oldest French vineyard. Archaeologist established the presence of grape vine 5000 years ago. From the year 80 of our era, Jura's wine have been cited by ''Pline the Young'' and described in history documents in Arbois in X century or also in Château-Chalon and Salins-les-Bains in XVI century.
    Under the impulse of the Romans, the vineyard took it's boost. Arbois, Château-Chalon and Etoile wines are known for their quality since first millennium.
 It's king ''Philippe le Bel'', who introduce those wines in French Court. The Jura's white wine was the preferred of Henri IV like François Ist. This passion led him to plant Jura grape vine in Fontainebleau castle.
    The Poets Rabelais, Rousseau, and closer to us Vian and Brel drunk and sing Jura's wine. The vineyard has within it famous personality like Alexis Millardet (inventor of Bordeaux mixture), the unbeatable Louis Pasteur (Father of oenology).
    Today, the development drivers are established on wine quality. From 20 000 Ha of diverse quality at the end of XIX century, Jura's vineyard is now concentrated on the present area of 2 000 Ha of superior quality.

ARBOIS - Fisrt PDO of France
    The Appellation of Arbois was the first Protected Designation of Origin (PDO) in France created the May 15th of 1936. It's also today the first Appellation of Jura by it's volume of production around 45 000 hectoliters per year. This Appellation is split on 843 Ha.
The five grape varieties authorized in Jura can claim the Arbois's PDO. Red grapes dominate in term of area and production as the local soil is favorable for it's growth. In a rugged landscape with limestone scree, the soil consists of very deep, clay-siliceous and compact marls.

THE GRAPE VARIETY - Diversity and typicity
    Temper and typicity, richness and diversity are so many qualifiers that perfectly define the Jura wines.
Five varieties, assembled and vinified in different ways, offer you the widest range of wines that a vineyard can offer.
    So, red wines (Poulsard, Pinot, Trousseau, Assemblage), white wines (Chardonnay, Savagnin, Assemblage) and vin Jaune, but also sparkling wines (Crémant Blanc and Rosé), sweet (Vin de Paille and Macvin du Jura), Marcs and other Fines will be proposed on the terroir Jurassien and in our cellar.

2/ Le vignoble jurassien

LE PLUS PETIT DES VIGNOBLES CONNUS




 

HISTOIRE
- Les faits marquants

    Le vignoble du Jura est l'un des plus vieux vignoble de France. Les travaux des archéologues ont établi que la présence de la vigne remonte à 5000 ans. Dès l’an 80 de notre ère, les vins du Jura sont cités par Pline le Jeune, puis décrits dans des documents historiques à Arbois au Xe siècle, ou encore à Château-Chalon et Salins-les-Bains au XVIe siècle.
    C'est d'ailleurs sous l'impulsion des romains que le vignoble prendra son essor. Arbois, Château-Chalon, l'Etoile seront citées pour leurs qualités dès le premier millénaire. C'est le roi Philippe le Bel, qui introduira ces vins à la cour de France. Le vin blanc du Jura sera le préféré d'Henri IV comme de François Ier. Cette passion l'amènera à couvrir de ceps jurassiens le château de Fontainebleau.
    Les poètes Rabelais, Rousseau, et plus près de nous Vian et Brel boiront ou chanteront les vins du Jura. Ce vignoble portera aussi en son sein des personnages de premier ordre comme Alexis Millardet (inventeur de la bouillie bordelaise), l'inégalable Louis Pasteur (père de l'œnologie).
    Aujourd'hui, les grandes lignes du développement sont établies sur la base de la qualité. Des 20 000 hectares de qualités diverses à la fin du XIXe siècle, le vignoble jurassien se concentre sur une surface actuelle de 2 000 hectares de qualité supérieure.

ARBOIS - Première AOC de France
    L'appellation Arbois fut la première AOC française en date (Décret du 15 Mai 1936). Elle est aussi aujourd'hui la première du Jura par son volume de production, de l'ordre de 45 000 hectolitres par an. Cette appellation est répartie sur 843 hectares.
Les cinq cépages autorisés dans le Jura peuvent prétendre à l'AOC Arbois. Les rouges dominent en terme de surface et de production sur ce terroir, qui lui est favorable. Dans un relief tourmenté comportant des éboulis calcaires, le sol se compose de marnes irisées très profondes, argilo-silicieuses et compactes.

LES CÉPAGES - Diversité et typicité
    Caractère et typicité, richesse et diversité sont autant de qualificatifs qui définissent parfaitement les vins jurassiens.
Cinq cépages, assemblés et vinifiés de différentes manières, permettent de vous proposer la plus large palette de vins qu’un vignoble puisse offrir.
    Ainsi, vins rouges (Poulsard, Pinot, Trousseau, Assemblage), vins blancs (Chardonnay, Savagnin, Assemblage) et vin Jaune pour les vins tranquilles, mais aussi effervescents (Crémant Blanc et Rosé), liquoreux (Vin de Paille et  Macvin du Jura), Marcs et autres Fines vont seront proposés sur le terroir Jurassien et à notre caveau.